Just say no? Yeah right.

Image

    (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FAdwtP3DeKM)

Today I had a small conversation with my dad about the remake of the Blurred Lines video by a group of feminists. He could only last a few moments watching it before he said “Alright, I get it. That’s enough.” After that, he walked away and proceeded to tell me that because women don’t say no, we perpetuate it. He said that we should take a stand and not let women like Miley Cyrus or Lady Gaga tarnish our reputations. The Miley Cyrus and Lady Gaga topic is a whole different conversation.

How could such an educated man like my father say such an ignorant thing? I thought that I did a better job introducing him to feminist ideas, and broadening his horizons than to hear such patriarchal bullshit spew from his mouth. Ok, that was a bit bitey. I don’t think that the feminist issue is being held back by my generation (I’m 19), but instead by the older generations who have been raised in traditional gender roles in a very strong patriarchal society.

After my dad gave me his two cents, by little brother, who is nine mind you, piped up and had something very interesting to say. “But dad, without women, none of us would be here!” Very insightful for a nine year old, don’t you think? How is it that women’s issues are so obvious to a nine year old child, but not to an educated grown man? Hasn’t he seen how being a woman has affected my outcome has a human being? From the moment I came out of the womb, thrown into a pink blanket with a pink hat and given a name designated for a girl, I have been affected by my gender.

I tried to explain to him that women must pick and choose their battles. If we try to fight everything that stands against us, we will spend our whole lives in a battle, and unhappy. I also told him that it’s important we have a sense of humor. It’s ok to hear the ridiculous lyrics to songs like Blurred Lines and just laugh at its absurdity. But it’s certainly not accurate to say that we must always say ‘no’ to stop perpetuating raunch culture.

This entire conversation started when my friend posted an article on Facebook. Although we’ve still got a long way to go, we must celebrate how far we’ve come! The 28 Most Iconic Feminist Moments of 2013, with the Blurred Lines Parody video coming in second: http://www.policymic.com/articles/76145/28-most-iconic-feminist-moments-of-2013

Enjoy! And don’t forget to choose your battles.

 

-KC.

