Why is women’s health such an issue?

Several years ago, when I first became a “woman”, whatever the hell that means, my doctor suggested I receive vaccines to “protect” myself against HPV and cervical cancer. By the way, almost all cervical cancers are caused by human papillomavirus (HPV), which is a common virus passed from person to person during sex (CDC: http://www.cdc.gov/cancer/cervical/basic_info/risk_factors.htm).

Interestingly enough, I was at the appointment with my dad, who really had no idea what was going on. When I told the nurse that I wasn’t having sex, and didn’t plan to, she went on this rant about college girls and boys and how I would more than likely change my mind about sex and do it sometime soon and I just had to protect myself. I guess she was right about the sex part, but not nearly as wildly in the sense she had proclaimed it to be.

So, I turned down the popular vaccination, Gardasil, despite the nurse’s comments.

This isn’t the first time I have been at the doctor’s, and a societal norm regarding women’s healthcare has been shoved in my face, while I politely reject it. Similar experiences have erupted with prescribed birth control.

Today, I stumbled upon this article from The Daily Sheeple (http://www.thedailysheeple.com/lead-developer-of-hpv-vaccines-comes-clean-warns-parents-young-girls-its-all-a-giant-deadly-scam_012014). Apparently, that Gardasil shot that was supported so widely is now being questioned for its safety and whether it was actually ever needed among my demographic.

Women have died from it (44 at the time this article was written)! This shot doesn’t actually protect anyone from cervical cancer, it simply postpones its effects. No actual benefits have been found- only terrible side effects.

When will the struggle for women’s healthcare become not a struggle anymore? Who looks out for the 15 year old girls sitting in the doctor’s office? I was stubborn, but quite frankly just plane lucky to have declined the vaccine. What about the 70% of girls who accepted it? Or maybe their moms made them do it, like mine almost did.

“Women are not an interest group. They are mothers, and daughters, and sisters, and wives. They are half of this country and they are perfectly capable of making their own choices about their healthcare.” – President Obama.

Although he’s right, women need some help here. And by help, I mean medicine and vaccines that ACTUALLY WORK and are BENEFICIAL.

 

***This marks the beginning of my Common Book for Women’s Studies 202 with Dr. DeJoy***

