Frigid or Slut: The University Clichés

Let’s talk about ‘hook up culture’ in some real terms. “… do whatever (and whomever) you like…”

This double standard bullshit has got to stop.

Women can’t be a sex goddess AND a virgin at the same damn time. It just doesn’t work that way. For a woman to be experienced in bed, she needs experience-in bed, or a whole lot of anatomy study time. But probably experience.

How will she get that?

Sex. Hooking up.

Does that make her a slut for experiencing things? No. I’m not a slut because I experience the kisses of my puppy frequently, so neither is a woman who is versed in the anatomical parts of another being. Ok, puppy was a bad example, but you get what I mean.

What we are doing when we ask women to be upheld to a double standard is essentially creating a double identity, when a single identity is impossible enough. A sweet innocent lady during the day, but freaky deaky at night. Oh right, let me just change into my super suit real quick, shall I?

 

We may be superheros, but a single identity is hard enough to define.

Napier Social Media

1306

“Oh yeah, [random girl’s name] is up for it. She’s already f***ed five guys here already. Easier than Sunday morning.”

“I fancy [random girl’s name].”

“Nah mate. Hasn’t banged anyone as far as I know. Total prude.”

Ah, university. A time of great change – evolving from the person you were when you were leaving high school to the person you aspire to be, from the caterpillar to the chrysalis to the butterfly you always knew yourself to become. From fledgling to falcon, from puppy to hound.

But enough trite transformation metaphors. There’s a problem in university culture, and its name is Misogyny.

Since I arrived at university in September I’ve noticed something disturbing- misogyny’s new form of expression. While I was under the impression that humans were complicated, layered beings with personalities and loves and hates and intricate psychological irregularities and basically homosepians in all their confused, complicated glory…

View original post 599 more words

