Sleepless in San Antonio

“I’m the hero of this story. I don’t need to be saved.”

Lately, I’ve been noticing a lot of women around me settling for men who can “provide for them.” Girls looking for someone who is going to have a good job and make life easy, or convenient. I’ve even heard my mother’s friends encourage me to marry rich and worry about love later. The issue isn’t that money is the answer, but instead the idea that women need to be saved and provided for. Not all of us are helpless damsels in distress. I think parts of this ideal come from the movies, and TV shows that are exposed to us as children and young adults. It’s so romantic when the prince comes and sweeps you off your feet, and you never have to worry about anything ever again. BUT THIS ISN’T REALISTIC. No one I know, ever, has yet to marry a real life prince. None of my friends have ever had the hottest guy in school throw pebbles at their window. Not once, has a dark handsome man sang to them with his guitar- but yet we still wish and hope and dream that someday it will happen to us.

In my eyes, this is yet another patriarchal ploy to keep women out of power. If we spend our time distracted with hoping and wishing and competing for a prince charming, then we are less able to focus our time on other things that could make us potentially more powerful. Not to mention, this notion divides women by instilling the idea of competition for men.

