Sex, poop and periods.

In light of conversations about invisibility in my women’s studies class, let us do some justice to some other stuff that is also supposed to be invisible.

SEX. POOP. AND PERIODS.

Have at it. Go on now.

Us humans have been doing this stuff FOREVER. You would think that it wouldn’t be this taboo to talk about, dammit.

With my friends, I always get funny looks when I say: Oh I was just pooping. For some reason, this is a surprise to them, when they do they same exact thing, too! Why do we shy away from talking about NORMAL bodily functions? I function like a normal human being, but I am not rude nor inappropriate with my bodily functions.

Just look at how proper I’m talking about this, too.

 

Now, I have improved these functions with a gluten free diet among other things, but that does not take away from the fact that it’s normal to poop and fart. Bad things happen if you hold that shit in. Trust me. (Here’s a link if you have tummy issues)

 

Here are some other real taboo things that aren’t usually talked about in regards to women and all people:

  • Influence of media on women
  • Sex
  • Work-life balance
  • Taking care of ourselves, too
  • Human imperfection of sex, no matter the genders involved
  • Desire
  • Racism
  • Childlessness
  • Sexual violence
  • Assault
  • Street harassment
  • Gender inclusive language
  • Reproductive justice

 

“Taboo” shouldn’t be a thing, because really, it is working for the oppressor and for the system. It suppresses talking about and recognizing the things that keep us oppressed.

Men and women alike.

 

jenny's lark

in the woods

If you were born after 1980 then you may have a hard time believing what I’m about to tell you; but I wouldn’t lie to you, especially not about this:

Once upon a time, in my lifetime, it was taboo to talk about breasts. There were no self-exam posters on gym locker room walls; there were no “Save the Ta-Tas” t-shirts. Boobs were off limits, whether called by their formal or informal name. Breasts were considered private parts, requiring cover and secrecy, unless you were one of those bad girls who nice boys weren’t allowed to go out with even though those same boys had different kinds of bad girl breast self-examination posters in their bedrooms.

You may take issue with the Komen Foundation for missteps in recent years, but you have to give credit where credit’s due. Because of Komen’s long public advocacy, we’re now able to talk about…

View original post 1,416 more words

