What Ray Rice And Male Entitlement Have In Common.

Ray Rice apologizes for “brutalizing” his wife earlier this year.

Source: http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&docid=RV5ZwbK4seoezM&tbnid=kW0GfMpphUHZOM:&ved=0CAUQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.forbes.com%2Fprofile%2Fray-rice%2F&ei=YF4OVKapBIjEggThh4GQDw&bvm=bv.74649129,d.cWc&psig=AFQjCNEMWENN5gqu7R9IzJUzUcAOjpI4KQ&ust=1410314205528551


 

 

This might seem obvious, but let me spell it out for you. Ray Rice serves as the face of entitled men everywhere.

 

He is not white, but he is rich and privileged, a pro athlete. It is not rare for men in his position to be excused from what normally would be considered a felony. There is always some loophole that they seem to worm their way through. I call this the privileged clause. Invisible, but implied. If that’s not entitlement, then I dunno what is.

 

Because this issue has to do with sports and a man, men everywhere seem to feel as though only their opinion matters- NOT a woman’s. I mean it’s not like Ray beat his then fiancĂ©, now wife, unconscious or anything.

 

The amount of men who have commented on Facebook posts I’ve made about this is funny, but shout out to the men who have personally texted me to belittle my opinion on the matter.

 

One man told me I had this story wrong, that I shouldn’t be mad about it, and that I should do my research before I post things to Facebook that aren’t true.

 

Nowhere in my post did I invite him to comment with his ignorance about how “wrong” I was. I did not ask for his thoughts, nor did I imply that it would be ok for him to do so. And never would I think it’s acceptable for him to text me about such a seriously offensive matter and then go about a conversation regarding my personal life, i.e.: But that doesn’t matter. How is life?

 

If you don’t like what I have to say, and the urge to comment/text me about what I’ve posted is just too strong, remove me as a friend on Facebook. Hell, just remove me as a friend, period.

 

If you’re uncomfortable with someone who confronts issues that are clear and present in our society, then get off Facebook. Because YOU cannot possibly wrap your mind around a human being who supports other human beings and equal rights for all, there is a much larger deep seated issue which we ALL must deal with daily because of your witlessness. Violence against women is unacceptable and criminal. Bottom line. No excuses allowed.

 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

One pissed off and offended woman.

 

 

For another great article regarding the Ray Rice situation see http://mic.com/articles/98268/ray-rice-fired-from-baltimore-ravens

