Why ‘Going Home’ Never Ends Up Like This

“I pledge to create a short film titled ‘Going Home’, in which we visualise a utopia for women, where, unlike today, mistrust and fear don’t dictate actions and decisions,” says director Vikas Bahl.

 

My friends and family often scoff at me when I say that I want to carry heat.

I’m really not joking, even though I know a weapon isn’t going to solve all my problems. Creating more rigorous laws prohibiting violence won’t help either. What is necessary is a complete shift in culture, and a society that doesn’t victim blame or make women objects.

Violence against women starts with something that doesn’t seem violent at all.

Comments. Many women don’t even recognize comments towards them as something violent, because the words themselves are not. The intention behind those words might be. Men feel entitled to say things to women, even when women don’t ask for it. If a man speaks to a woman without her consenting, then he will be more inclined to do something physical to a woman without her consent. Words are just a stepping stone to physical violence.

If a woman cannot walk down the street without being harassed in some form, then in what world will women be able to ask for a ride home from a group of men and feel safe from violence?

 

