5 Common Pieces Of Advice For College Freshmen That I’m Glad I Didn’t Take

Thought Catalog

Old School / Amazon.com.Old School / Amazon.com.

1. “Don’t be that girl.”

Now this can be taken in so many ways, and coming from a pretty conservative (but 100% caring) family, this advice seemed natural to give to a young teenage girl going off to one of the biggest “party schools” in the country. Don’t be that girl who gets too drunk. Don’t be that girl that everyone talks about the next day for the wrong reasons. Well, to be honest, I’ve been that girl. I’ve been the girl who got too carried away with shots and ended up tripping over more than just her words. No doubt in the morning it was embarrassing and I wished life had a delete button, but without these experiences I wouldn’t be the person I am today. And first, let me say this. The notion of “that girl” is extremely sexist to me. It is a…

View original post 596 more words

