Why I’m Sick of the “I’m 20ish years old and only travel, and don’t date” articles everywhere

Lately, I have seen tons of articles headlined with an overly exposed photo of a young woman doing something super “hipster.”

Example:

p152677162-2The article proceeding the photo is about how women in their 20’s should act. What they should be doing, what dreams they should be pursuing, and of course: how they should be interacting with men.

Trust me, I love doing hipster shit with my hipster friends as much as the next girl. I just don’t believe that yet again, women should be spoon fed how they should be acting. Once again, normalizing and creating a universal feminine experience.

Women of all ages should be able to do whatever the fuck they want. There shouldn’t be a behavior that is expected. Whatever you want you to do, go ahead and do it.

If you want to have a boyfriend in your early 20’s then by all means, have a boyfriend.

Hear me out. Being a 20 year old is hard. Life throws you a curve ball every damn day. Like when you really want to order a pizza but you only have $3.52 in your bank account. Or maybe your tire falls off your car and you call your dad crying so hard that he can’t even understand you- your first experience with AAA.

All those things are real but don’t shame the women who are happily in a long term relationship and want to stay in it. Even if they are in their early 20’s.

